

## AERO CLUB OF WASHINGTON CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: DONALD D. ENGEN AERO CLUB TROPHY FOR AVIATION EXCELLENCE

## NOMINATION DUE DATE: April 1, 2024

## AWARD DESCRIPTION & CRITERIA:

The Aero Club of Washington was originally founded to promote the Wright Brothers and their efforts. Their initial achievement defined aviation, established excellence as a standard and placed America in a role of global preeminence. The Aero Club seeks to commemorate the Wright Brothers' historic actions by awarding an annual Trophy for Aviation Excellence.

The criteria for the Trophy are as follows:

1. A record of lifetime achievement; or a single event; or a series of acts;

2. By an individual; a team; or by a corporation or organization that reaffirms the Wright Brothers' standard of excellence in aviation.

The following are examples of the types of actions which the Aero Club seeks to reward:

1. Technological advances of national or global significance;

2. Development of aviation policy which significantly enhances the interests of passengers, shippers, employees and industry;

3. An act of extraordinary courage, professionalism, skill and intelligence which advances the science of aeronautics and/or astronautics, or saves the lives of passengers and/or the public at large;

4. A lifetime achievement of enduring value to the nation in any aviation field (academic, airline, manufacturer, media, public service, support services, etc.) which establishes a higher standard of excellence in aviation; or

5. Any other act or series of events by individual(s) which truly embodies the Wright Brothers' excellence in innovation, tenacity, insight, creativity and an essential fascination with flight.

In 1999, after the death of Admiral Don Engen, director of the National Air & Space Museum at the time, the Aero Club Board voted to present the Trophy to Don Engen posthumously. It was accepted in October 1999 by his widow, Mary Engen. The Board also voted to name the Trophy after Don Engen, and at that same luncheon, the Trophy became the "Donald D. Engen Aero Club Trophy for Aviation Excellence." The permanent Trophy resides in the National Air & Space Museum.

## PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS OF THE ENGEN TROPHY

- 1993 Herb Kelleher, Southwest Airlines 1994 – Senator Wendell Ford, U.S. Senate 1995 - Edward W. Stimpson, GAMA 1996 - Joint FAA/JAA 777 Certification Team 1997 - James A. Wilding, MWAA 1998 - Robert Crandall, American Airlines 1999 - Donald D. Engen 2000 - Najeeb Halaby 2001 - L. Welch Pogue 2002 – Alan S. Boyd 2003 - Not Awarded 2004 – Don Lopez, NASM 2005 – STS-114 Discovery Shuttle Crew 2006 - Scott Crossfield 2007 - Langhorne Bond 2008 - Phil Boyer
- 2009 William DeCota 2010 - Carl W. Vogt 2011 - Jane Garvey 2012 - National Aviation Hall of Fame 2013 - The Tuskegee Airmen 2014 - Charles "Chip" Barclay 2015 - Will Ris 2016 - Walter Boyne 2017 - J. Randolph Babbitt 2018 - Margaret Jenny 2019 - Carl Burleson 2020 - Michael Quiello 2021 - Linda Hall Daschle 2022 - Stephen Alterman 2023 - Ambassador Carol B. Hallett

Below, please describe in a few paragraphs the qualifications and justification for your nominee, based on the criteria listed above. You may attach any additional information or links to articles, websites, or similar sources that will support your nomination. **Please send nomination to stephanie@aeroclub.org and president@aeroclub.org by April 1, 2024.** 

NOMINATOR NAME:

PHONE:

**EMAIL:** 

**NOMINEE NAME:** 

PHONE:

**EMAIL:** 

NOMINEE QUALIFICATIONS & JUSTIFICATION: